Concert Music


Death of a Snowbird (2013)

A melancholy walk through old memories and the frustration of lonliness.

Premiere: 2nd Annual Broke Student Film Festival, Anthony Lai, conductor, 2013.

Duration: ca. 3'45"

Difficulty: Intermediate


9-5 Overture (2010)
For the working class.

Duration: ca. 6'20"

Difficulty: Professional

Instrumentation: 2.2.3(1Bcl).3(1Cbn)/

Critters (2008)
A lighthearted multi-movement work with a touch of political humor.

I. March of the Ants
II. A Spider and Its Prey
III. Mr. Jingles, the Circus Mouse
IV. The Republican
V. Swatting the Fly

Premiere: Members of the Wayne State University Orchestra, Anthony Lai, conductor, 2008.

Duration: ca. 7'40"

Difficulty: Professional

Instrumentation: 1(Fl/A.Fl).1(Cl/Bcl).0.0./

Chamber Music/Small Ensembles

Terra Incognita (2008)
Motivic exploration on the alto saxophone.

Commissioned by: Donald Sinta

Duration:  ca. 5'30"

Difficulty: Professional

Instrumentation: Alto Sax, Piano

 Dreams of Hope (2006)
A "memory space" offering hope out of tragedy.  Dedicated to my friend and fellow composer Grant Anderson.

Premiere: Wayne State University Theme and Variation Concert, 2006.

Duration:  ca. 4'40"

Difficulty: Intermediate

Instrumentation: Piano, Vibraphone, Stratocaster

Music for Voice

Kettering Star (2013)

Premiere: Henry Ford Community College Concert Choir, G. Kevin Dewey, conductor, 2013.

Duration: ca. 4'30"

Instrumentation: SATB and piano

Text: Bobbi Scheffer and Anthony Lai
I see your star.
It's taking me back to a dream
With the whispering trees you can hear in the breeze.
I see your star.
I'm hoping you see mine.

I see your star,
Though the clouds have moved into the sky.
Still, it's taking me back to a dream.
Though my eyes are closed and sky is now grey,
I see your star shining;
Guiding my way.

Alleluia (2009)

Premiere: Renessance Voices, G. Kevin Dewey, conductor, 2009. 

Duration: ca. 2 min.

Instrumentation: SSA and piano with alto soloist.  (Also availble with chamber orchestration: Quartet)

Text: Based on John 4:16

Whoever remains in love, remains in God, and God in him.

Taste and See (2009)

Responsorial Psalm

Premiere: Renessance Voices, G. Kevin Dewey, conductor, 2009.

Duration:  ca. 3'30"

Instrumentation:  SSA and piano with alto soloist.  (Also availble with chamber orchestration: Quartet)

Text:  Based on Psalm 34

Taste and see the goodness of the Lord.

I will bless the Lord at all times.
His praise shall be ever in my mouth.
Let my soul glory in the Lord;
The lowly will hear me and be glad.

Glorify the Lord with me,
Let us together extol His name.
I sought the Lord and He answered me.
He answered and delivered me from all my fears.


More Concert Music Coming Soon!